Home   »  Our Coalition  »  US Campaign Conferences  »  9th Annual National Organizers' ...


Check back frequently for updated details about the US Campaign's 9th Annual National Conference.

Friday, July 23rd, 2010

Islamic Society of Great Kansas City
8501 E 99th St.
Kansas City, MO 64134

View Larger Map

7:00PM-9:00PM: “Bringing Home the Cost of Occupation” Discussion Panel

* Mustafa Hussain- Service Manager, Islamic Society of Greater Kansas City
* Jeanne Christensen- RSM, Sister’s of Mercy Justice Team
* Josh Ruebner- National Advocacy Director, US Campaign to End the Israeli Occupation

* Janet Baker, Citizens for Justice in the Middle East

Panelists will discuss unmet domestic needs in their communities that could be funded with the money that Kansas City taxpayers give in military aid to Israel.  Free and open to the public. 

SATURDAY, July 24th, 2010

University of Missouri-Kansas City
University Center
5000 Holmes St.
Kansas City, MO 64110

View Larger Map

8:00AM-9:00AM: Registration

Conference attendees must check in at the registration table to receive their conference packet, meal passes, etc. before going to breakfast.

8:00AM-9:00AM: Breakfast

9:00A-9:30A: Introduction, Welcome, & Orientation

*Muslim Student Association spokesperson, UMKC
*Rana Libdeh, US Campaign Membership & Outreach Coordinator

Conference attendees will receive a brief orientation to the campus of UMKC and an overview of the conference schedule and information package. 

9:30A-10:30A: Member Group Report-Back

* Rana Libdeh, US Campaign Membership & Outreach Coordinator       
* Mike Coogan, US Campaign Office Manager

Delegates from member groups will give a two-minute report back on what they have been doing in the past year and discuss their challenges, obstacles, and successes.

10:30A-10:45A:  Coffee Break

10:45A-12:00P: Annual Report and Nomination of Elections Committee

* Amie Fishman and David Wildman, Co-Chairs, Steering Committee

Nominees for Election Committee: To Be Announced & Elected

The Steering Committee Co-Chairs and staff will present the 2009-2010 Annual Report. Conference attendees will then have the opportunity to ask questions and provide feedback about the US Campaign’s annual work. 

Voting delegates will also elect an Elections Committee to administer the election to the Steering Committee.

12:00P-1:30P:  Lunch

During the lunch break, conference attendees may choose to caucus or network in self-organized groups.

1:30P:  Steering Committee Nominations Due

Nominations must be received in the ballot box at the registration table by the end of lunch.

1:30P-3:00P  Building the Movement with Strategic Allies

* Judith LeBlanc, US Campaign Steering Committee
* Shakeel Syed, US Campaign Steering Committee

Delegates will divide into smaller groups to discuss and make recommendations on coalition building with and outreach towards strategic allies and communities to build a stronger movement both for the US Campaign and its member groups.  Groups will then report back their discussions and recommendations to the plenary. 

3:00P-3:30P: Coffee break

3:30P-5:30P:  Proposals: Strengthening the US Campaign Priorities

* Felicia Eaves, US Campaign Steering Committee
* Phyllis Bennis, US Campaign Steering Committee

Prior to the conference, member groups in good standing with the US Campaign will submit proposals to strengthen current program areas and priorities. Organizations which submit proposals will have the opportunity to present their proposals at this time, to be followed by questions, discussion, and a vote. 

5:30P-6:00P: Steering Committee introductions & ballots

* David Matos, US Campaign Steering Committee Member

Candidates for election to the Steering Committee will introduce themselves to the plenary and the Elections Committee will distribute ballots to voting delegates.

6:00P-7:00P: Break

7:00P-10:00P: Gala Awards Dinner: Breaking Israel’s Blockade of Gaza 

Join the US Campaign as we honor organizations and individuals working to break Israel’s illegal blockade of the occupied Palestinian Gaza Strip.  We’ll be serving a plated dinner, followed by footage taken by Iara Lee onboard the Mavi Marmara during Israel’s attack on the Gaza Freedom Flotilla.  Ramzi Kysia, a lead organizer with the Free Gaza Movement, will accept an award on behalf of the organization for its work to break the blockade. Rep. Brian Baird (D-WA) will receive the “Courage in Congress” award for his efforts to advocate for an end to the blockade of the Gaza Strip followed by his keynote address.  Local Kansas City hip-hop artists The Recipe will close the evening with a performance.

Free for conference registrants.  $25 per ticket for general public, including dinner.


8:00A-9:00A:  Breakfast

9:00A:  All Steering Committee ballots due

Ballots for the Steering Committee election must be placed in the ballot box at the registration table prior to the first morning session.

9:00A-11:00A: Proposals:  Member Group Initiatives

* Judith Leblanc, US Campaign Steering Committee
* Peter Miller, US Campaign Steering Committee

Prior to the conference, member groups in good standing of the US Campaign will submit proposals for member group led-initiatives to be endorsed by the US Campaign.  These projects will be implemented by member groups and publicized by the US Campaign if voting delegates approve their endorsement. 

11:00A-11:15A: Coffee Break

11:15P-12:15P:  Regional Meetings

Delegates of member groups will meet by geographical area to strategize about working together toward joint goals and implementing priorities and initiatives voted upon at the conference.

12:15P-1:30P:  Lunch & Networking

During the lunch break, conference attendees may choose to caucus or network in self-organized groups.

1:30P-2:00P:  Closing & Election Results

* Amie Fishman and David Wildman, US Campaign Steering Committee Co-chairs

In plenary, the results for the election to the Steering Committee will be announced. The US Campaign will summarize the conference and major decisions made.

2:00P-2:30P: New Steering Committee Meeting

Members of the newly-elected Steering Committee will briefly meet to introduce themselves and to plan times for future meetings.